Word of the Day: Pestilence

pest1.jpgAh, summer approaches, bringing with it the pleasures of dining al fresco, lazy Sundays spent in the park, the possibility of a seasonal romance and maychance the Plague!

In honor of the globe-trotting incubator of “a rare and exceptionally dangerous form of tuberculosis” who’s currently taking a little government-supervised vacay at the CDC –and who may or may not be an agent of the Apocalypse–the word of the day is pestilence:

pes·ti·lence
n.

1. A usually fatal epidemic disease, especially bubonic plague.

2. A pernicious, evil influence or agent.

Seriously, for a hypochondriac like me this news doesn’t sit well; I’m mainlining Airborne as I type this. Just when the weather was pleasant enough for me to leave my hovel and enjoy the outdoors, among the madding crowd, this phlegm-ridden harbinger of Doomsday appears. Fuck. Looks like I’ll be packing my respirator along with my bathing suit when I hit the beach. You can never be too careful!

This entry was posted in Health, the Apocalypse, Word of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word of the Day: Pestilence

  1. Like the little girl in skates once so succintly said, “We’re going to die.”

Leave a comment