Pad Fad! Toxins In Foot Gunk Debunked!

Because I am fascinated with As-Seen-On-TV products, and because I am a product of my culture, believing that I need not have to actually alter my lifestyle to have a healthier life, I was fascinated by the Kinoki Detox Foot Pads. Yes, the ads are gross, when the people peel off the giant leeching adhesive strips and they are covered in gooey brown crud, but, as stated, I like to apply my magical thinking to products that can draw toxins out of me rather than me having to work to do so. (Or, maybe, not put toxins inside me in the first place!)

So disappointed was I to learn, while listening to NPR, that they are a hoax. A ruse. They took used and unused foot pads to a lab, did some sciencey juju, and proved that their is nary a difference between the two. No toxins leeched out. Also, the pads turn brown whenever they are exposed to moisture, which is why they look the way they do when you peel them from your sweaty feet after a good night’s sleep. The pads, they do nothing!

You can listen to the story here.

This entry was posted in TV Eye and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pad Fad! Toxins In Foot Gunk Debunked!

  1. Yeah, but ped eggs are real, right?!

  2. ephemerist says:

    @Sorcia. Apparently! Just check out the comments that keep rolling in on that post

  3. My God. That’s the most postings I’ve ever seen on your blog. You are clearly the spokesperson of the infomercial. Also: What about that poor woman who gave you her invoice #?!

  4. Good morning. Yes, the kinoki foot pads have been debunked. Many foot pads out there have over 50% fillers in them, making the real ingredients weak and less potent, so they don’t work like they should.

    I have been selling foot pads for over 5 years now, I have my own company and hired a factory to make my foot pads to my specifications (meaning absolutely no fillers!) and while I have to pay more for my higher quality foot pads, I don’t have high prices… I have a day job that I am blessed with that helps pay my bills, so I don’t have to charge a ton of money for my foot pads… and my customers keep coming back, which makes me happy :)

    What I guarantee is that these foot pads work. Anyone who doesn’t think so is welcome to get reimbursed for their un-used packs of foot pads. If you have tried the Kinoki pads, I would like you to try mine, too… compare them. I love hearing the comments of my new customers after they have tried mine. :)

    Have a great day!
    Rebecca
    http://www.purifyyourbody.com

  5. Steve says:

    I’m paying about $1 per Kinoki pad. Are yours really worth the RIDICULOUS price difference? Come on now…

Leave a Reply

