I Wish I Knew How to Quote You

Curmudgeonly former mayor and film critic Ed Koch filed his review for The Dark Knight and he did NOT like it one bit. After grousing about how he can’t get a seat at an early afternoon showing of a film he acknowledges is wildly popular, he calls the movie “ridiculous” and concludes it “added up to nothing.” But perhaps what broke poor Koch’s heart was what he perceived it to be a waste of Heath Ledger’s talents: “I believe he will be best remembered for his portrayal of Ennis Del Mar in ‘Brokeback Mountain,’ and his delivery of the plaintive line, ‘I wish I could quit you.’”

Aw, squish. Koch has a soft spot for Ledger’s frustrated cowboy. Except that was it not Jake Gyllenhaal’s character that uttered that immortal (and much-spoofed) line?

Koch bungling a gay reference? It’s like he’s trying to throw us off. Still.

[Koch on Film]

This entry was posted in Movies, The Gays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Wish I Knew How to Quote You

  1. operatorla says:

    So it is a rumor that Koch is gay? I had never heard that, and then I saw Shortbus awhile ago and I was sure the character of the older, ex-mayor of NYC was a take on Koch. But I had never heard the gay rumours before…was I alseep at the wheel?

  2. ephemerist says:

    @OperatorLA: Oh, Koch is a’mo. A cagey one, though.

  3. Homophile says:

    I’ll only ever think of him as the sad old man in Shortbus now.

  4. ephemerist says:

    @Homophile: Unfortunately, I don’t think he’s quite as tragically noble (nobly tragic?) as the character in Shortbus.

  5. operatorla says:

    How did I miss the gay talk on that one? I feel so behind.

  6. ephemerist says:

    @OperatorLA: Don’t feel bad. It’s one of those unknown knowns. Or something. What’s weird is, I think he used to, maybe still does but at least for a time, live in the same apt. building as Larry Kramer. AWKWARD!

Leave a Reply

