‘Party Girl’ Revisited

Wow, I just re-watched Party Girl, maybe for the first time since my initial viewing. And yeah, watching Parker Posey strut through that movie was if not the moment of her coronation as indie queen, then at least her attention-grabbing appearance at court. And it’s still idiosyncratic and funny, even with its hackneyed wrap-up. Apparently the film was — trivia! — “the first commercial comedy-drama feature film shown in its entirety on the Internet” (thanks Wikipedia!).

The first time I saw it I was younger than Posey’s existentially-conflicted twenty-four-year-old, and upon this viewing I am decidedly not. Yet! I still don’t know what I’m doing with my life. Resonance! (Maybe I should get drunk and stoned and take the Dewey Decimal system to heart? Eh, no.)

Given the evolution of “indie films” since Party Girl debuted in 1995, it almost seems now like a throwback, some wacky comedy from the ’30s or ’40s, only with more weed and ketamine and house music. And yet maybe it was built on that template all along, which is why its charm endures.

Anyway! Below, a clip of Posey putting the smackdown on an unthinking library patron.

(Oh, and we shan’t speak of the ill-advised sitcom adaption, notable in no way except for the fact that it featured John Cameron “Hedwig” Mitchell.)

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ‘Party Girl’ Revisited

  1. jellykean says:

    I’m beginning to wonder if like my ex-boyfriends I should just stop revisiting movies I loved when younger as to not taint the images in my mind…

  2. ephemerist says:

    No, sometimes it’s good to revisit.

  3. Every few years or so I’ll pick this up at the video store on a whim and watch it again. Any movie with Paperclip People’s “Throw” in the soundtrack is all right in my book.

  4. ephemerist says:

    It endures! While so much of the nineties indie movies are just so angsty and hokey now.

  5. Mandi says:

    You were not 24! You were 21 at best. Because that’s how old I was. 20 or 21.

    Ans I still have my Party Girl monologue…

  6. ephemerist says:

    @ Mandi: True, though I did say I was younger than the Posey Character. Ballparkin’ it I was. Ah, a monologue. That word kinda makes me shudder now. Just a tiny.

Leave a Reply

