TV Eye: The PedEgg

pedegg-foot-shavings.jpg

It was the latter end of Thanksgiving weekend and I was engrossed in a marathon of terrible movies on some cable network, I think maybe Oxygen (so not only were the films bad but also chick-flicky), when a commercial for the PedEgg came on, one of those innocuous As-Seen-On-TV products that are supposed to be such a convenient technological marvel you’re meant to wonder how you ever lived without them. The PedEgg, is a “revolutionary foot file” that basically acts like a cheese grater for your janky, callused feet.

All was well and good, until about half-way through the commercial when they open the device and dispose of approximately a cup of skin shavings into the trash. Finely ground foot dust! (Pictured.) And that’s one of their selling features: “Best of all, PedEgg™ has been designed to collect all the skin shavings in a convenient storage compartment allowing you to use it anywhere with no mess.”

I nearly yacked my turkey leftovers all over the coffee table. The image of foot flakes still haunts me, haunts me I tell you.

Earlier: Pooping 2.0

This entry was posted in TV Eye and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to TV Eye: The PedEgg

  1. It sounds like an ingrediant a witch would have to find, “foot dust”…

  2. Jane says:

    I’m getting you foot dust for Christmas. I so am.

  3. Susan says:

    Hell, Jane. GET him foot dust?! Honey, we can make our very own!! All we need is a pair of pedeggs!

  4. ephemerist says:

    Ladies, if you order it is 2 for the price of one. And foot cream! Also: Jane, if you give me foot dust I’m going to punch your boyfriend.

  5. Paula Perkins says:

    I ordered the ped egg and just recieved one. I thought I was supposed get two plus some foot creme for a total of $23.98. I am charged $26.98 for one ped egg! My order # is TB 5252932. My invoice # is 4066:000001:000109. My customer # is 8228975. Can you check this out for me please.

  6. Dave says:

    laugh all you want …
    i actually tried this thing …
    and it works wonderfully.
    i, too, only got the one, but when used … for $10, …
    holy moly it works GOOD!!!!!!

  7. ephemerist says:

    @Dave: It works well? Really?
    But…but…what is the deal with the special offer if no one is getting their 2 for one and their foot cream?

  8. mary says:

    look at the website you have to order one @16.99 & say YES to the 2nd bonus for just 16,99 S&H not everyone wants to pay xtra s&h

    tht’s why you got one only

  9. Jenny Fleener says:

    I laughed so hard at your “foot dust” story. I too was extremely grossed out at that part of the commercial. but, sadly, I have yanky 41 year old feet so I am about to order so I was checking out reviews and ran across this “funny”

    Excellent writting.

    Pray for my soon to be smooth footsies!!

  10. ephemerist says:

    @Jenny. Good luck! I too am alternately grossed out/fascinated by the PedEgg. Let me know if it works and if you can manage the “foot dust.”

  11. I am really surprised at how so many people online were so grossed out by the foot dust in the ad. I’d bet that the “foot dust” was just some stand in, like dried coconut or something. But it reminded me of when I inherited my grandparents’ bedroom set. I was putting some stuff in the nightstand and discovered that my grandfather had been clipping his toenails in there at some point, and there they were… a pile of toenail clippings. I found that to be much more gack inducing than any simulated foot dust. :)

  12. ephemerist says:

    @Kate: Wow! OK! Years of toenail clippings totally trumps a little bit of freshly scrubbed dead skin. I really want to know if the foot dust does look like that, or if like you posit, they may have goosed it up for TV — to really show the magic.

  13. elaine says:

    hi, stumbled across this site by mistake……. i was on vacation in florida (from uk) when i saw this ad, was facinated….so when i got home i had to order from the states,,,,,,,am soooooo glad i did,,,,,,this is ab fab product…….wowWOWwow

  14. ephemerist says:

    @Elaine: Wow. The power of the PedEgg is now spreading overseas. It cannot be stopped.

  15. Bob Gelinas says:

    If anyone would like to see a video product review of the Ped Egg by an independent 3rd party consumer adovcacy organization, simply go to http://www.asotv.info. This product was found to work, although there are a few things you should know about it.

  16. SK says:

    I completely agree about the “foot dust” part of the commercial. I was convinced that they filled the thing with parmesan cheese or something and that it couldn’t possibly work that well. Fast-forward to my first experience with the Ped Egg a few days ago. Good God, does it work. Either this thing is the most amazing product on the market or I was in possession of some breathtakingly nasty feet. Or both. Probably both.

  17. ephemerist says:

    @SK: Ha! Parmesan cheese! It is scary that the product is so poorly marketed and yet, by all accounts, is a wonder. The people come to it, despite it’s terrible foot dust.

  18. I love my ped egg… hehe… my boyfriend’s feet are horrendous. But he does love a good foot rub and for me to do the ped egg on his feet. And the foot dust is true… if you hold the ped egg upside down while you are using it, the dust actually falls back out, too… gross!

    When we go on vacations, I get a pedicure at the resort and usually my boyfriend tags along, too. One time we were in Puerto Vallarta, and the pedicurist used somethng that looked like a carrot or potato peeler, on the callouses on my boyfriends feet. I felt so bad for him as I was getting a nice foot massage, he was getting sliced. his feet were so sensitive for the next couple days he couldn’t wear his addidas sandals (the ones with the pokey bumps coming up that are supposed to massage your feet).

    Rebecca

  19. Ivan Avalos says:

    I’m familiar with the ped egg and have checked it out. As some of the other people commented, it’s really a “cheese grater” and can cut into your skin (especially bad if you’re diabetic/have circulatory problems). Also, you have to finish with a finer instrument. And because of the plastic component, cannot be properly sterilized.

    I’d like to mention our product, the Angelfeet pedicure file (http://www.angelfeetfile.com), which many professionals believe to be the best one on the market. It doesn’t cut into the skin but can still be used very aggressively, doesn’t require a finishing instrument, and can be easily sterilized because it is made out of a single piece of surgical grade stainless steel. No one need be afraid of this file, and it does a fantastic job. And it lasts and lasts.

    Did I mention it comes double sided?

Leave a Reply

