Revisting a Trend: Mancake

4561_zac-efron-1-05182007.jpg Those bloggy vixens at Jezebel took notice of Salon’s “fakish trend piece” on Zac Efron’s use of bronzer, which posited that his “mancake” and Pete Wentz’s use of “guyliner” could be seen as the sign of a possible sea change in men’s grooming. Wonder where author Kibum Kim got the idea? Guess I’m just one of the unlinked blogs that was “buzzing” about Zac (or mayhaps Kim just got around to looking at Buzzfeed for story ideas).

The Salon writer gave the hypothesis a serious bent, even adding historical context: “Roman men used chalk-based foundation to brighten their complexions, and, in the 18th century, Louis XV and his court made it vogue for men to put on gobs of toxic lead-based makeup and rouge.” (Ya don’t say!)

I chose to eschew any attempt at justifying this inanity in favor of taking a cheap swipe at Mr. Efron (is historical context necessary when dissecting a pseudo-trend?) while Jezebel did due diligence and asked some regular dudes whether or not they dabbled in “instant skin enhancement.”

Can’t wait until Efron’s hairy feet inspire a slew of male toe-waxing pieces. Oh wait, yes I can.

Bronzer Gods [Salon]

Will Man Makeup Catch On? We Asked Some Regular Dudes [Jezebel]

Earlier: Trend Forecasting: Mancake and the Efron Effect

This entry was posted in Mancake, Style, Trends and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Revisting a Trend: Mancake

  1. brooke says:

    i looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove you so much i could die i saw you on a plan love brooke

  2. angeli says:

    hi zac iam 1 of your fans hi can you be my friend if you dont mind

  3. angeli says:

    if u want to know me this is my friendster email anjzz@yahoo.com ok GOD BLEES more bleesing toyou

  4. lisa says:

    HEY ZAC!! I LOVE YOU SO MUCH I HAVE ALL YOURE FILMS I LOVE THEM. YOU ARE SO SWEET.
    SAY HELLO TO YOURE GIRLFRIEND FROM ME.
    LOVE LISA.

  5. Alexandra says:

    Hi Zac. Can you add me on your contact pleaze? I’m Quebecoise

  6. Kayleen says:

    ZAC YOU ARE SO FREAKING HOT, I WOULD DIE FOR YOU , YOU MAKE ME MELT EVERY TIME I SEE YOU. YOU ARE THE HOOOOOOOOOOTEST GUY IN THE WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLE WORLD*!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Veronica says:

    ZAC I LOVE YOU! U R THE HOTTEST GUY I EVER MET! U R SO KIND I LOVE YOU!

  8. veronica says:

    ZAC I LOVE U WHEN I SAW U IN HAIRSPRAY I FELT LIKE I WAS GOING TO DIE EVEN THOUGH MY BOYFRIENDS HANDS WERE AROUND ME! ZAC I LOVE U SO MUCH!

  9. Jezen says:

    That’s really disgusting to be honest, Veronica. You melt for a girly boy that wears a hell of a lot of makeup, when you’re with your boyfriend? I’m sorry but that really is disgusting.

  10. olivia says:

    ZAC I LOVE YOU! U r so hot! I would die for u. U r hotter than Drake bell!

  11. Martina says:

    Hi Zac! I dont know what Im gonna write to you.., But I love you! Even tough Iv never meat you! ;) You are so good in High school musical 1 and 2, Hairspray and Summerland! :)
    Byebye! <’33

  12. Angel Munoz says:

    Hi Zac hows it going me not much just chillen at my house. I am one of your biggest fans and really hope u will intend on writing me back

    N T Wayz I realy luv ur voice its awesome maybe 1 day i would get 2 c u perform
    u r so HOTT!!!!!!! can u get me tickets 2 see u perform
    by the way if u know Hannah Montana tell her i said hi
    write me patty_lynn_02@yahoo.com
    luv
    Angel Munoz xoxo

  13. Angel Munoz says:

    hi ZAC ur sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo HHHHHHHOOOOOOTTTTTT
    I love you so much tell Vanessa to step back ur mine
    luv Angel M.

  14. ale says:

    i love you so much………………you is my life and you is very very very beautiful ..!!!!!!!! i am one of your fans. i have all your films and i love them… bye kiss kiss

  15. Casey says:

    I LOVE YOU ZAC EFRON!!!!!!!

  16. anna says:

    you girls are stupid as heck. Zac effron is so UGLY :]
    finally satisfied.

  17. jojo says:

    hi sac i love you so much i wont your e-mail plz plllz:)

  18. Kamis says:

    Who are you ?

  19. ephemerist says:

    @Kamis: I’m not sure what you mean.

  20. DJ says:

    Hi ZAc it’s DJ. I am 1 of your biggest fans. I am totaly KRAZZY about you. Your eyes are beautiful, very hipnotic & sexy too. I just love you.

    KISS……………..KISS…………………….KISS………….

  21. JAKX says:

    wat d hel? ok yh sac is gorgey porgey personified but claiming u luurve him hmm… bit much really as u’ve neva met him + think looks fitter without d bronzer

  22. Carleigh says:

    Pete Wentz is so Gay, Homosexual,and a huge FAG!!!1

  23. Carly says:

    Joe Jonas is so cute and Pete Wentz isn’t half bad!!!!!

  24. abir says:

    Hi ZAc it’s abir. I am 1 of your biggest fans. I am totaly KRAZZY about you. Yoeyes are beautiful, very hipnotic & sexy too. I just love you and lKISS……………..KISS…………………….KISS………….
    and tell vanessa stop loving u cause i love………………you is my life and you is very very very beautiful u are so hotttt you are so sweeti wont your e-mail plz plllz plz plz plz plz see you kiss

Comments are closed.