To Dine For: Baked Potato Stand

potato.jpgOh, hey you! Welcome to the grand opening. You just missed the ribbon cutting, so you won’t be in any of the photos with Bloomberg and Isaac Mizrahi. Well, at least now you know what’s been keeping me busy lo these many months. Sorry I didn’t return your calls. It’s just so hard opening a business, ya know? I mean, can you believe it? One day, you’re baked with your friends going to see a movie, lamenting the lack of readily available baked potatoes from a vendor, and then voila, you’re opening your own baked potato stand. It just made sense, I mean you can get frites, hot dogs, so why not a really good baked potato?

Of course, it helped to partner with Danny Meyer. He totally got “our vision,” ya know? He sees it as an extension of Shake Shack, and the press has been unbelievable. New York magazine, the Times magazine, Eater, and on and on.

It’s sort of like when you followed Phish around, selling vegetarian burritos at shows…only with global branding and (we’re pretty much assured) a two-star review from Frank Bruni.

We were going to think of a clever name, like “Spud Shack” or “Ba*ked” but we opted for simplicity. I’m so tired of clever. I just want to provide a quality product to the food-conscious masses, so “Baked Potato Stand” it is.

Listen, I’d love to sneak you to the front of the line, but I don’t want to upset the people who’ve been waiting, literally, for hours to be served. We’re trying to build a loyal customer base. One guy actually camped out in front of the stand all night, if you can believe.

So, while you’re waiting (it’ll be about an hour or so from the end of the line, but totally worth it) peruse the menu. You can have any of the classic add-ons, sour cream, butter, chives, bacon bits, or go a little upscale and experiment. If you’re really adventurous, and not worried about cost, try the baked with Gruyère and truffles. It’s to dine for!

This entry was posted in Food, Humor, To Dine For. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to To Dine For: Baked Potato Stand

  1. Jungle Julia says:

    LOL! You thought it was a joke, but I really think we could make millions!

  2. Susan says:

    I had a presentiment that you’d discover some awesome new food concept.
    Not to burst your bubble, but Oxford had these stands all over — just potato products, mostly baked. They only rolled out at night, so all the pub crawlers had the option of real food at midnight or 1 am. I have to say, it’s a pretty lucrative business. That line was 8 deep during World Cup at all times.

  3. Jane Gavin says:

    I’m not reading things you write about food. I’ve been burned before.

  4. ephemerist says:

    @ Susan: Yes, I’m aware of the jacket potato phenomenon in Jolly Olde, but to my knowledge, there’s no freestanding baked potato stand in New York to serve the foodie masses…yet.

  5. ephemerist says:

    @Jane: Um, sorry. I’m a food trend savant, or something. A visionary, if you will.

  6. Jane Gavin says:

    That’s no excuse to turn your blog into a den of lies.

  7. Susan says:

    LOL — “den of lies”… I think I really love “Jane Gavin”

  8. Jane Gavin says:

    Do you love me or are you IN LOVE with me? It matters. (One will make me shy.)

  9. Susan says:

    Um, just love, not IN love. I love most people who can issue a smackdown to my brother, but you in particular. It’s a trait I’ve long admired. So don’t be shy. Or I won’t love you any more.

  10. Jane Gavin says:

    No, no, no… normal love doesn’t make me shy. It’s romantic love that makes me hide under the carpet.

  11. ephemerist says:

    @ Jane: “Den of Lies” says the pseudonymous blogger.

    Also, both of you, what is this love that you speak of?

    I think this comment thread needs to die…don’t make me get all up in yr internets, moderatin yer commentz!

  12. Jane Gavin says:

    Ephem, sorry sir, it won’t happen again. I’ll be good.

    *bows*

  13. Susan says:

    If you posted new content more often, maybe your readers wouldn’t be leaving 13-deep threads of commentary partially out of boredom. D-bag.

  14. Jane Gavin says:

    Oh, snap! She gots yo’ numbah!

    *back to being good*

  15. ephemerist says:

    Sorry Betty Effin’ Crocker, that’s not the point of this blog.

    Jane: You’re on notice.

  16. Liz says:

    I have to tell you — I was sitting in my car today, eating a Wendy’s baked potato, thinking, “hmm… this is a good idea. New York needs a baked potato stand. I wonder if there are any in the city.” So then I went online, did some research, and found your site. Visionaries…

  17. ephemerist says:

    @Liz: Ha. Visionaries indeed…

Leave a Reply

