Fashion Tyranny Prevents Actress the Spoils of Fame

One would think that being on a critically-acclaimed television show, the attendant perks would be easy to come by.  The free swag should flow like the river Jordan.  But!  The fashion industry can be arbitrary, petty and tyrannical it seems.  Take the case of Christina Hendricks, who plays the pneumatic, devastating Joan Holloway on AMC’s “Mad Men.”  Says the actress:  “No one will send me dresses. Designers loan size 2 or 4 samples to actresses, but I’m not that size. It’s like I’m a freak because I’m curvy and I can’t squeeze into those things. I’ve had some problems with that.”

Enough!  For heaven’s sake, did you see her at the Emmys?  That woman can WEAR an outfit.  Get Hendricks some free dresses, forthwith!  [via Scanner]

This entry was posted in fashion, TV Eye and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fashion Tyranny Prevents Actress the Spoils of Fame

  1. Can they send some to me, too, while they’re at it? My “upstairs” is also designer prohibative. In other words, I have distracting decolletage.

  2. Pingback: World Wide Women » Blog Archive » Tutti amano Joan

  3. Nick Plowman says:

    Ugh, I love her so much, curves and all. She is a WOMAN. That is for sure.

  4. Pingback: Basket of Kisses | Mad News, October 15-18, 2008

  5. Pingback: Always a Betty, Sometimes a Joan « One Fabulous Day At A Time

Leave a Reply

