Listen to your ‘Filth Elders’

john-waters.jpgFrom New York mag’s piece on John Waters, now and forever the Pope of Trash:

Also recently, Waters accidentally smoked crack. He was having a party at his house in Baltimore and someone passed him a pipe that he assumed was packed with pot, so he took a puff. “I thought, Am I addicted? Am I gonna rob my parents now? I had a horrible hangover, but I’d been drinking anyway. I was glad, actually, in a way. I would never now purposely try a new drug, I don’t think, but I’m secretly glad I know what it feels like. All I remember is it freezes your lungs. I did meth when I was young, but it was methedrine, which became like a terrible biker drug, like the lowest-class redneck drug, and how it ever became a gay drug is still a mystery to me, because it was so déclassé.”

Hear that kids? When a man who proclaims himself a “filth elder” calls meth déclassé, it’s probably time to put down the pipe and reconsider what you smoke in the name of glamorous, hedonistic fun.

This entry was posted in Drugs, Words To Live By and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

